Opinions are divided as to the best way to reduce crime. The traditional solution is to punish the criminals by putting them in prison. Some hold the view that education and job training are the long-term solutions to cut crime. In my opinion, prison is the only answer in a few situations, but in most cases, education, vocational training, and rehabilitation are better.

Prison is the only answer in the case of criminals who are a risk to society, such as murderers. They cannot be made to mix with society. Some people also say that people would not be afraid of committing crimes if fear of imprisonment is not there. But I still feel that in the majority of cases, we can do without prisons.

In traditional prisons, people learn a lot about crime and so when they leave prison they will commit even more crime. In other words, prisons act as universities of crimes. So petty offenders like shoplifters and pick-pockets should be given some vocational training and education. It is a well-known fact that the basic causes of crime are poverty, illiteracy, and unemployment. So, if we provide education and job training then we would be removing the causes of crime. If criminals are rehabilitated by some form of employment then they would certainly not re-offend.

Furthermore, prisons are expensive to maintain. The government can spend that money on other important matters such as education and healthcare. This would ease some burdens from the government’s shoulders. The petty and minor criminals can also be employed in some community service projects after providing some education and vocational training.

In conclusion, I believe that we should hate crime and not the criminal. To fight crime we should focus on the causes of crime. Education and job training help to rehabilitate criminals. So, people who commit less serious crimes should not be sent to prison. The focus should be on reforming them.