Some people believe that in order to give opportunities to new generations companies should encourage high-level employees who are older than 55 to retire. Do you agree/disagree? Why?

With the increasing competitiveness of the job market, opinions have diverged on whether or not enterprises should supplant staff aged 55 and above by younger people in the workplace. While there are some valid arguments against the idea of early retirement, I still believe that senior employees should give their vacancy vacancies for young generations.

Opponents of early retirement usually argue that elderly staff should continue to work as they still perform efficiently at the workplace. It is recognized that senior employees have more experience at the current positions, so replacing them would take a long time for the new one to get acquainted with the job. As a result, this could have a negative effect on the performance of a department as well as the whole company. Moreover, there is evidence to support the idea that although the government provides some supports, the enterprise still have has to pay a considerable amount of money for insurance policy and other supporting expenses for retires. This will by far upset the financial situation of the company if the number of aging employees retired increases.

Despite the preceding arguments, I support the view that senior staff should be encouraged to retire so that younger people can have an opportunity to perform. Firstly, the old generations usually hold the traditional way of lifestyle and thinking, which may affect the development of the organization. A case in point is that young adults would be more suitable for the techonology industry since it requires constant creativity and effort to generate new products. Another reason is that elderly people have devoted virtually all their life to work, so they deserve for retirement to rest and complete what they could not have done before. Therefore, senior citizens can spend their time pursuing their recreation or taking care of their offspring.

In conclusion, early retirement certainly has its drawbacks, but I believe that the benefits outweigh them in the long term for both the new generation and the senior staff.