Many people think that advertisements aimed at children should be banned. To what extent do you agree/disagree?

With the virtual omnipresence of advertising, opinions have diverged on whether or not the government should prohibit commercials targeted at children. However, I am for the idea of banning those advertisements due to their potential adverse impacts.

It is undeniable that commercials directed at young children are considered unethical and should be strictly restricted. It is understandable that advertisements commonly give products an exaggerated account, which makes people tend to completely believe in the power of the products. The advertising company mainly stresses on those attributes of a product in order to be attractive to young consumers and deliver a strong message that is what their peers also want and buy. As a result, young children are susceptible to the effect of commercials, leading directly to their subsequent buying decision.

Notwithstanding, there are bound to be those who doubt this idea. Many people argue that commercials directed at children can provide parents as well as their offspring with the useful information of a product that is good for them. A case in point is that after watching an advertisement for milk, young children would be interested in that product and want to drink more milk, then parents do not waste time convincing them. Nonetheless, children are easily taken advantage of since they have not yet acquired enough knowledge and experience. They may not be able to differentiate the quality of the products or even take into consideration the functions or practical values. Therefore, commercials would make the young become discontent with what they have already owned and put pressure on their parents to buy the advertised product.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that advertisements targeted at children can provide adverse impacts so they should be prohibited for the sake of the young.