In many countries nowadays, people still live with their parents after marriage. Do you think this trend has more advantages or disadvantages?

It is a well-established fact that some young adults still live under the same roof with their parents after getting married in this modern society. Although living with parents would certainly undermine the marital harmony, I believe that this drawback will be eclipsed by the benefits.

It is understandable that sharing a living space with parents after marriage can possibly hinder the lives of newly-wed couples. The old generations may embrace some traditional ways of lifestyle, perspective, and mindset, which commonly leads to unwanted conflicts between family members. A case in point is that the first son in Asia countries has to live and take care of his parents, causing disputes between his mother and wife.

However, I would argue that the merits of living with parents are liable to defeat the disadvantages. Firstly, the dynamic lifestyles of contemporary young people often result in an intensive amount of workload and pressure, which makes them become negligible to their offspring and household chores. Therefore, parents can help to share the parenting and domestic works in order to relieve the burden young adults have been struggling with. Moreover, either the couples or their parents can save on a considerable amount of living expenses when sharing accommodation. To exemplify, such costs from rental, electricity or grocery can be reduced, which decreases the financial pressures for both, especially when living in metropolitan areas. Furthermore, since parents were responsible for their offspring’s care, there is a moral obligation for those children to take care of their parents when they become elderly. Consequently, living with senior parents is a way for young people to show their respect and fulfill filial duties to their parents for nurturing them.

In conclusion, despite some negative points, sharing a living space with parents after marriage is of great benefit to both young adults and their parents. As a result, people should consider the negative effects to take advantage of living with their parents.