Some people believe that the government should provide financial assistance to all artists including painters, musicians and poets. Others think that it is a waste of money. Discuss both points of view and give your opinion.

It is true that opinions have diverged on whether or not artists such as painters, musicians or poets should receive financial support from the government. While there are some valid arguments against the idea that the state subsidy is lavished on arts, I still believe that the government should invest in other fields.

Opponents usually argue that the financial resources for artists are of great importance for the development of arts around the world. Firstly, it is recognized that arts are an effective way to boost the enrichment of people’s emotional life. Painters harmonize the beauty of colors, musicians create enchanting notes and poets use words to sympathize with the disadvantages of people, leading to the fact that virtually all artists have made immense contributions to diversify people’s feelings about their surroundings. Moreover, there is evidence to support the idea that masterpieces and compositions created by these artists possibly improve the country’s economic growth since they can help to increase the number of visitors to the sites. A case in point is the famous portrait of Mona Lisa that can attract numerous people paying a visit to France to watch, resulting in the enormous profit that the French government can gain annually.

Despite the preceding arguments, I support the view that the government support on arts is a waste of money. With the continuous development of technological and industrial industries, the government should invest in their related fields so that they can keep up with other developed countries. A case in point is that the government support on the introduction of new technology on agriculture can help farmers boost their harvests instead of wasting money on arts, which certainly has little meaning to people’s daily life. In underdeveloped and developing countries, there are various aspects should be given priority such as medical services or education. By ensuring that its citizens are healthy and well-educated, the government can relieve the pressure on national expenses and increase economic growth.

In conclusion, even though investments in arts can be lucrative, I strongly believe that the government should allocate financial assistance on other fields.