Sending criminals to prison is not the best method of dealing with them. Education and job training are better ways to help them. Do you agree/disagree?

With the continuous increase in crime rates worldwide, opinions have diverged on the issue of how to deal with criminals. While there are some valid arguments for putting them in prison, I still believe that vocational training and rehabilitation are better methods in order to reduce crimes.

Advocates usually argue that criminals should be punished by imprisonment. Firstly, it is recognized that crime is a risk to society and we cannot mix criminals with other citizens in the community. Therefore, sending them to prison can alleviate society’s fear of criminals. Moreover, many criminals are afraid of imprisonment and being put in prison means that their profile and family members would be negatively affected. Consequently, this kind of punishment would prevent them from committing crimes again.

Despite the aforementioned arguments, I support the view that training and education can help to reduce the high level of crime. Criminals who have already been in prison would possibly continue committing crimes once they are set free. Prisons then act as a university of crimes, which some people might learn more and create some new relationships with other criminals to commit a bigger case. Besides, it is poverty, illiteracy, and unemployment that are the roots of some petty crimes. So providing vocational training and education for petty offenders such as traffickers or shoplifters could decrease the crime rate. Furthermore, prisons are expensive to maintain so the government should allocate financial budget more for education and healthcare in order to prohibit people from the idea of committing crimes.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that the government should offer education and job training for criminals so that they can find a job and help fighting crimes.