A serious problem affecting countries right across the globe is the lack of water for drinking, washing and other household uses. Why do many countries face water shortage, and what could be done to tackle the problem?

In our fast-paced society, despite the technological advances, there still exist some countries that have water crisis. They don’t have enough water for daily uses such as household chores, health adaptation or agriculture. In my opinion, the issues still occur because of various reasons and the writing below will discuss about both natural effects and human causes.

First of all, the countries with water crisis are in the area with extreme environment and the local residents are naturally lack of water due to weather condition. In other words, these locations are near the sun so the high temperature leads to the lack of precipitation and annual droughts. In consequence, stream flow starts to diminish and causes the shortage of water. As a result, these countries do not have enough water for daily uses in a long period of time. According to recent research, about 10 percent of global population or 40 percent of desert residents do not have access to safe water resources and it caused thousands of children die daily. In brief, nature is one of the reasons to water crisis but other countries should take these problems under consideration and solve the global issues.

On the other hand, the lack of clean water is because of the irresponsibility of a proportion of the global citizens. Specifically, some people are still wasting water with unconscious habits. For example, making a cotton T-shirt costs gallons of water that can be used by a single person for days. Meanwhile, we misuse a large number of clothes and equipment without realizing the natural resources that had taken part in the manufacture process. Furthermore, various industries are willing to contaminate water by dumping trash and chemicals directly to the water sources in order to utilize the annual incomes. They neglect the environmental threats and cause water crisis just for their personal purposes. Therefore, government should issue laws and penalties for these companies with the purpose of eliminating water problems.

Summarily, water crisis has always been a serious problem to many countries across the globe; therefore, global citizens should together come up with solutions and solve this issue. For example, government can supply purified water for extreme area or establish environmental organization in order to help people with difficult situation or to raise the citizens awareness about environment.