A serious problem affecting countries right across the globe is the lack of water for drinking, washing and other household uses. Why do many countries face water shortage, and what could be done to tackle the problem?

In our fast-paced society, despite the technological advances, there still exist some countries that have a water crisis. They don’t have enough water for daily uses such as household chores, health adaptation, or agriculture. In my opinion, the issues still occur because of various reasons and the writing below will discuss both natural effects and human causes.

First of all, the countries with water crises are in areas with an extreme environment and the local residents naturally lack water due to weather conditions. In other words, these locations are near the sun so the high temperature leads to the lack of precipitation and annual droughts. In consequence, streamflow starts to diminish and causes a shortage of water. As a result, these countries do not have enough water for daily uses for a long period of time. According to recent research, about 10 percent of the global population or 40 percent of desert residents do not have access to safe water resources and it causes thousands of children to die daily. In brief, nature is one of the reasons for the water crisis so other countries should take these problems under consideration and solve the global issues.

On the other hand, the lack of clean water is due to the irresponsibility of a proportion of the global citizens. Specifically, some people are still wasting water with unconscious habits. For example, making a cotton T-shirt costs gallons of water that can be used by a single person for days. Meanwhile, we misuse a large number of clothes and equipment without realizing the natural resources that had taken part in the manufacturing process. Furthermore, various industries are willing to contaminate water by dumping trash and chemicals directly into the water sources in order to utilize the annual incomes. They neglect the environmental threats and cause water crises just for their personal purposes. Therefore, the government should issue laws and penalties for these companies with the purpose of eliminating water problems.

Summarily, the water crisis has always been a serious problem to many countries across the globe; therefore, global citizens should together come up with solutions and solve this issue. For example, the government can supply purified water for extreme areas or establish environmental organizations in order to help people with difficult situations or to raise the citizens' awareness about the environment.