Some school leavers travel or work for a period of time instead of going directly to university. What are the advantages and disadvantages for their study?

It is a trend for some high school graduates to temporarily travel or work instead of enrolling in universities. There are some crucial benefits as well as drawbacks associated with this. This essay will provide some insights into the pros and cons of both sides of these students’ choices.

On the one hand, working or traveling after school creates several positives, including obtaining real-life experiences and gaining independence. Firstly, acquiring life experiences is a major profit for students who travel often. They can be exposed to a wider range of people. Your coworkers' ages, socioeconomic backgrounds, and hopes and dreams will be quite different from theirs, which is important to help decide their future motto. In addition, school graduates can learn independence through working in jobs. Earning money is a great way to learn how to manage it. And managing self-earned money is one of the first paths to independence, which leads to various life skills like making ends meet.

On the other hand, this path can have some negatives as well. They may have less of an advantage to pursue professional dream jobs if they do not enroll in higher education. Doctors and engineers both require some sort of degree, which can only be obtained from attending universities. Secondly, although learning from society may aid students in gaining personal experience, it may not be helpful to get a high-paying job. Therefore, they may have to risk professional career prospects.

In the end, the advantages and disadvantages of this choice balance each other out. The path students choose may affect their future in the long term.