Several languages are in danger of extinction because they are spoken by very small numbers of people. Some people says that governments should spend public money on saving these languages, while others believe that would be a waste of money.

Discuss both views and give your opinions.

Nowadays we all have to admit that some minority languages may disappear in the near future. Although some people argue that governments could save money by allowing this to happen, I believe that these languages should be protected and preserved.

On the one hand, there are several reasons why saving minority language could be seen as waste of money. First, if governments want to protect the languages spoken by a small number of people, expensive education programs will be needed to make sure that more people are engaged in learning it. The state have to pay for facilities, teachers and marketing campaigns as the first step to preserve minority languages. This money might be better spent on other public services that have effect on a great deal of people. Second, it is cheaper and more efficient for a country to have one language used in all aspects of life. Governments could cut all kind of cost related to communicating with citizens belonging to different minority groups.

Despite the above arguments, I highly appreciate the statement that government should preserve languages that are less widely spoken. Because a language's function is much more than a mean of communication, it has a vital connection with the culture identity of people who speak it. Language is an important element in formation of person's thoughts, behaviors and origins. If a language becomes extinct, a predictable consequences is a way of life will disappear with it. We will lose cultural diversity that makes societies more interesting. Last but not least, by spending money on language preservation, governments could also preserve traditions, customs that are parts of country's history.

In conclusion, I believe that use budget on protecting minority languages is not wasted because in long term, this would have extremely positive impact on cultural heritage of states and individuals.