Shops should not be allowed to sell food and drinks that are scientifically proven to be bad for people’s health. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In modern societies, the consumption of processed food and soft drinks, which can exert detrimental impacts on human health, is rising rapidly. The question of whether these types of products should be banned from the market or not still remains controversial. Personally, I am firmly of the latter point of view.

To begin with, it is claimed that the prohibition of the sale of health-harming products can have negative effects on not only the business but also the national economy. The extinction of these food and drinks is believed to result in a huge decline in the manufacturers’ profit. Consequently, unemployment is more likely to happen. For example, fried chicken, which is listed among the most popular dishes in various fast food restaurants, can be diminished, causing considerable financial damage to the companies.

In addition, it is undeniable that the remaining demand for these products can act as a catalyst for the illicit sales, which leads to higher rate of crime. To illustrate, an alcohol-addicted person can search for many available means to get access to this product without any awareness of its legality.

Opponents of the above idea may claim that disappearance of this type of foodstaff can be a contributing factor to the decrease of several illnesses, including heart attack and obesity. This can be true to some extent. However, it is considered to be more effective for the government to launch campaigns to gain public knowledge about the affects of unhealthy eating and how to form a nutritious diet.

To summerise, a strict ban of harmful food and drinks can do more harm than good. It is, therefore, recommended that more action should be taken to raise awareness of the citizens about the importance of practising healthy eating.