Should government spend more money on improving roads and highways or should be government pay more money on improving public transportation? What is your opinion?

The problem that whether ameliorating roads and highways or public transportation is more important has become a subject of debate. While some people argue that government funding should be invested more in transportation system, i’m more convinced that it is more necessary to allocate part of government budget to improve the quality of transportation rather than roads and highways. this essay will give some reasons about my opinion.

On the one hand, it is undeniable that the investment in public transportation brings benefit to human. The mainly reason is that travelling more by public transportation such as bus or subway is more likely to reduce the amount of carbon footprint and save energy. using more private vehicles possibly pollute the air which can harm people’s health and the atmosphere. therefore, improving public transportation is a useful method to mitigate this issue. For example, the bus system is more and more widening in most countries all over the world.

On the other hand, I tend towards the notion that the investment of government should be more concentrated to improve roads and highways. First, adequate road infrastructure is more likely to ensure the safety for travelling of citizens. In fact, bad road conditions create an enormous hazard to drivers. An example can be seen as a driver may attempt to avoid unsafe situations, like a pothole or pooling water which could cause a serious accident. therefore, developing road infrastructure is completely essential. Second, regular road maintenance also acts as a motivator to develop other economic sectors such as tourism or transportation industry. For instance, high-quality roads make the transport of commodities between rural and urban areas more convenient and efficient.

To sum up, although some people claim that government should spend more money on improving public transportation, i’m in favour of that it is more important to invest government funding in upgrading roads and highways. this plays an important role in the safety of citizens as well as evolving other related economic fields.