Some people believe that the responsibility for the protection of the environment is by a transnational organization, rather than each individual country. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In contemporary life, the problems related to the environment are a subject of debate. While it is argued that environmental conservation is the duty of an international organization, rather than each individual nation, I personally object to this notion. This essay will give some reasons for my opinion.

On the one hand, it is undeniable that a multinational organization has a responsibility to protect the environment. They can regulate and monitor activities of industries and humans which seriously affect the environment of other countries nearby such as discharging untreated industrial waste into the sea. As a result, they are more likely to come up with measures to solve the environmental problem as well as the conflict among related countries. For example, the World Wildlife Organization is founded to monitor and prevent activities which have negative impacts on the international environment, especially climate change and greenhouse effect.

On the other hand, the responsibility for the environmental protection of each individual country is more crucial due to some reasons. First, nations can know about their own environmental problems as well as their impacts on their inhabitants earlier than a transnational organization. Consequently, they possibly solve these problems promptly before affecting too seriously on ecology and other countries. For instance, the government in Vietnam has imposed factories incorrecting the waste disposal and polluting air on heavy fines to prevent them from contaminating the environment which has detrimental effects on people’s physical health and native species. Second, each country raises their own people ‘s awareness about environmental threats through local government. As a result, more and more people are more likely to have a better insight about problems related to the environment which they can cause by daily activities.

To sum up, while others argue that the responsibility of a transnational organization for protecting the environment is more important than each individual country, I disagree this notion because each country can resolve its own environmental problems and raise citizens’ awareness more easier.