Should governments make decisions about people’s lifestyle, or should people make their own decisions?

<span style="font-size: 19.36px;">It could be argued that people are to be allowed to make all relevant decisions about their lifestyles by themselves alone. However, there are good reasons to put this position into question as I will explain in the following paragraphs.

In the first place, not all people are equally qualified to make decisions on their own. For example, healthcare and vaccines. There is a large consensus among doctors that vaccines are good and help prevent serious illnesses. Nevertheless, there are still parents who won't vaccinate their kids, despite putting their children at risk of preventable diseases. In these cases, government could pass a law making mandatory for parents to vaccinate their children to prevent these unnecessary deaths.

There is also a practical issue of coordination. Humans are social beings. This means they need to manage all the different choices people are making independently into a coherent social system that works for everyone. The creation and maintenance of this system is impossible without the government making or limiting, people choices. Congestion is a classic example of this coordination problem. If more people were forced to use public transit during peak hours, there would be fewer cars in the streets and therefore less congestion; making everyone arrive faster to their destination; although not as comfortable as they would prefer. Which means that, at least regarding traffic, the government needs to have an active role by "nudging" citizens into taking the options that work better for everyone.

On the other hand, What is the purpose of government? There are many who think authorities are not there to maximize the performance of a theoretical social system. Instead, they are elected to foster and protect the development of every individual, not guide it. When authorities begin to believe they know what is better for people, there is a risk that they turn people into slaves of the state instead of serving them. Under this view, the government should always let people make their decisions on their own.

In summary, there might be valid reasons to believe people should be allowed to make their decisions on their own. However, this leads to many practical problems that make this option unfeasible. Therefore, some coordination must be done through the government and some decisions about people's lifestyles are to be made by the government. Especially those related to public issues like traffic, pollution and public health. </span><br>