Should students take a gap year before going to university ?

Some graduated students tend to get a job or go on a trip before university life. While I agree that there are benefits and drawbacks of this decision, I would argue that students should take a gap year to work or travel.

To begin with, I would identify some disadvantages of choosing to spend some time before university. Firstly, it is necessary for students to carefully make a plan for this idea in order to make the most of the amount of time spent. Moreover, travelling requires a great deal of financial conditions that not all school leavers can afford. For example, travellers need to consider budgets for accommodations, foods and drinks as well as transportation. As a result, they may either have to work really hard or ask their parents for the expenses.

On the other hand, working or travelling straight after graduating from high school may provide students with new skills and great experiences from different aspects of life. These values might not be taught effectively if they decided to attend universities. For instance, my friend, who moved to Australia instead of going to a university after finishing high school, had a greater opportunity to improve her English with native speakers and improved significantly. Another huge benefit of travelling in prior to universities is that it helps people to clarify their studying purposes or choices of career. Through a gap year, they perhaps realize what they really love to do, which is important for a successful career later.

In conclusion, although both advantages and disadvantages of this trend can be pointed out, I believe that it is better for high school students to spend time on working or travelling after graduating.