Today the demand for cigarettes is proliferating, especially in developing countries. But smokers, meanwhile, are facing assorted serious lung and heart disease with packets of cigarettes as the main culprit. There remains disagreement as to whether products pertinent to tobacco should be forbidden outright by governments when the public health is considered, over which stalwart proponents and tenacious opponents are locking horns. From my perspective, I remain steadfast in support of prohibition of cigarettes.

First of all, manifestly, smoking is prejudicial to our health. Adversely affecting the functioning of heart and arteries, nicotine contained in tobacco heighten the risk of myocardial infarction and others cardiovascular disease. Furthermore, as a psychoactive drug, nicotine produce a feeling of well-being in smokers, which makes smoking become extremely addictive. Additionally, tar and carbon monoxide inhaled with cigarette smoking have been incriminated as causative factors for lung cancer. Every year over a hundred thousand britons are killed by cigarettes, according to a survey. The American government has classified environmental tobacco smoking and asbestos as class one carcinogens. Secondly, the hazard of passive smoking can not be disregarded, which is equivalent to smoking by yourself. In the vast majority of public places, smoking is frown upon. But factually, there always some sections of the smokers deliberately ignoring the signs 'NOT SMOKING', lighting up a cigarette and smothering the public, even though in non-smoking areas. This is a unethical and antisocial behavior we would doubtless protest, but sometimes when we are confronted with those people without goodwill, there is seemingly nothing we can do to stop it. Thirdly, only by wholly banning tobacco can smokers abstain from smoking. Individuals who have swore off cigarettes generally talk the talk but they don't walk the walk. Quitting smoking is a long-term campaign, in which masses of people surrender to temptation and abandon their attempts.

Also noteworthy is the fact that cigarettes are considered environmentally unsound. For one thing, hazardous air pollutants released with stinking yellow tobacco smoking foul up the air. And the another, discarded cigarette ends may spark a small brush fire, the fire spreading rapidly, even sweeping through a forest.

Admittedly, cigarette industry is a double-edged, spelling disaster for health but boosting the economy. As a pivotal and essential tax source, tobacco industry bring huge profits to the government. This is why the authorities drag their feet over forbidding the production and sale of cigarettes. Nevertheless, under no circumstances should we enrich ourselves at the expense of the public health.

By the way of conclusion, I reaffirm my position that a policy of zero tolerance for cigarettes and relevant tobacco products should be exercised by government whose the first priority must be the health of people.