Various researches, meta-analyses and experimental studies have shown that inhaling cigarette smoke has detrimental effects on health of active as well as passive smokers especially respiratory cancers. The odds of having lung cancer among active smokers are high than the odds among non-smokers. Evidences have shown that infants living with smoker parents have high chance of getting Sudden Infant Death Syndrome than their counterparts. Despite not smoking, passive smokers have a similar chance of getting different health problems.

In my personal opinion, smoking should be banned in all public places. It is supported by the fact that societal benefits are way above personal benefits in certain circumstances. Various countries have the rules and law regarding penalty of fine or jail for smoking in public. On the one hand, the discipline, patriotism and compliance to law are reflected by banning public smoking whereas on the other hand the healthy human resource are spared for the development of the country.

Banning might restrict some people's freedom of smoking. Some people might be dependent smoker, in the absence of which they cannot function properly on their daily activities. For such people, private smoking areas and rooms in hotels, restaurants, malls can be allocated for the mutual benefits of smokers and general people. Heavy tax should be imposed in tobacco materials to discourage people to smoke.

In conclusion, I would say that cigarette smoking should be strictly banned in public places to protect general people from exposure from smoke and reduce health and economic burden but allocation of private smoking zones can be done to maintain people's right to freedom of action.