Smoking not only harms the smoker, but also those who are nearby. Therefore, smoking should be banned in public places.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Smoking has a lot of negative effects on the smokers themselves or the people who are near them, breathing in the polluted air around.

The chemical in cigarette could increase the risks of cancer, damage the lung tissue, hair loss and so on. People how chose to smoke are maybe ok with its consequences, but others that just happened to be around them shouldn't be bothered with the smoke and its unwanted harms. The cigarette's smoke specially effects on pregnant young children, elderlies , people some kind of disease, pregnant women and their fetus. So, it should be banned around this groups even more than others.

Despite all of these issues, it may be a little unrealistic and less practical to ban smoking in all the public places. Personally, I think it is better to restrict them in really crowded places, inside of public buildings, theaters or cinemas and places with a lot of vulnerable individuals like hospitals, near schools and care centers and so on.

In my opinion, it might be tolerable in less crowded places with open space like parks and seaside if the smokers could keep their distance from other people who may be bothered.

In addition to all the issues mentioned above, there is also the matter of wasting the cigarettes. Cigarette butts must be trashed because their effects in environment are severe. They won't decompose for a long time and will reduce the vegetation of the soil.

In general, I think smoking in public places should be restricted, others are not responsible for the smokers choice and thereby must not be bothered by it. Also, mother nature shouldn't pay the price. So, we must be restrict about trashing them too.