Society is becoming obsessed with material goods like fast cars, designer clothes and flashy jewellery. We have stopped caring about the important things that is why divorce rates are so high and family bonds are not as strong anymore; our value system is disintegrating. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

For over two decades, with the proliferation of social media, we are inundated with celebrities’ and influencers’ luxurious lifestyles, which makes some people covet that life and end up purchasing expesive gadgets, designer labels, flashy cars and the like. Some experts say that this mentality, in the long term, could make our whole society’s value systems disintegrate. From my perspective, I partly agree with this statement.

To begin with, on the one hand, there are reasons why some people believe that materialism will adversely affect society. It is undeniable that materialism is associated with anxiety, depression and broken relationships. Some studies show that the more materialistic one becomes, the more he will experience unpleasant feelings. Those who are obsessed with the accumulation of material things will not be able to feel satisfied as they seek happines through acquisition, which only brings instant gratifiation. Therefore, these people will become more and more sefish and competitive and have a reduced sense of responsibility. Since materialists are less inclined to participate in demanding social activities, the relationships between individual members of a community will become superficial, transient and ad hoc.

However, on the other hand, I believe that those aforementioned are the highly visible minority. The truth is that there is much more to materialism than just monetary values. Nowadays, a growing number of materialists invest in community values. We cannot forget people who use their own money to travel to third world countries and offer free classes to poor children. Take Bill Gates - the billionaire as an example, he donated most of his fortune to well-meaning social programmes in order to secure a better world. And obviously, intimidating friendships and strong family ties still exist. Moreover, being materialistic may suit the flow of development more than remiscing about “good old days”. We are living in economically challenging time so it would be better for us to be a bit more competitive. It is clear that our society is evolving and it doesn’t mean that virtues decay.

In conclusion, though it is true that a highly visible minority of our society is deteriorating because of materialism, I strongly take the view that materialism is a part of world evolution and we should be more open-minded. Those who are obsessed with material goods will soon wake up to the fact that true happiness has nothing to do with being rich or famous.