Advantages and disadvantages of traditional music?

Traditional music is a type of music related to national culture, non-commercial and passed on from generation to generation. Owing to its symbolism, traditional music usually gains respect from most people. However, as with all development in today’s world, this musical genre has brought both benefits and drawbacks.

Admittedly, it is tangible that traditional music doesn't appeal to a wide range of audience. Practically, there is no denying that young people these days barely listen to folk songs, which is also true for me although I really want to get to know about this genre of music. Personally, I think the main cause of this trend is that traditional music can not catch up with the latest trends. To put simply, the fact that folk songs don’t match with youngsters’ instant styles may lead to them gradually disappearing in the future.

However, despite traditional music being out of fashion, its advantages can not be disregarded. Firstly, listeners can derive benefits from this type of music in terms of national history and culture. Take Red music - a genre of Vietnamese traditional music as an example, on the grounds that red music songs are stories narrated by soldiers who directly fought in Vietnam War, the audience can feel empathized with those being part of history, which can not be thoroughly delineated in any history books. Moreover, what makes traditional music special is the fact that it can unite the whole country. Obviously, not every single folk song is famous but some of them must be familiar to citizens because they are frequently played in some particular occasions or events, thus, this could act as a solidifying element that makes fellow-countrymen feel synchronized in some ways.

All things considered, although downsides of traditional music do exist, I firmly take the view that its benefits are more significant.