Advantages and disadvantages of tighter gun control.

There is a wide diversity of opinions on the question of the government administrating stricter rules on gun control. Although this restriction has some drawbacks, I would argue that its benefits are more significant.

To commence with, admittedly, there is no denying that tighter gun control can upset law-abiding gun owners. Especially in countries like America, where guns are allowed to be used widely, some think that people should own a firearm as a form of self-defence. However, there are more ways to protect people when they are on the road apart from using a firearm such as a spicy spray or a small knife. Actually, many gun owners believe that were the public to be well-armed, there would be a high possibility that terrorists and other threats could capitalize on the defenseless population. Moreover, tighter gun control doesn’t guarantee citizens’ safety. Unless the use of firearms becomes outlawed, there will always be people who attempt to use or trade them illegally, which can be a real menace to everyone.

However, while its downsides persist, I believe that tighter gun restriction is a need in today’s world. First, limiting the access of deadly weapons like guns would help to safeguard the well-being of the public. It is apparent that tighter gun control creates a safer school environment, especially when school gun fights have never ceased to be a problem in gun-allowing nations like America. In 2019, a group of American high school students from California had confessed on social platforms that they were afraid of going to school everyday because gun slaughterers can be anyone they met. Taking advantage of that trend, thousands of students also raised their voice about the bleak reality of teenage gun usage in America and demanded local authorities setting tighter gun control in the future. Another advantage of tighter gun control is that it can reduce the rate of domestic violence victims dying in firearm-related incidents. Furthermore, in the long run, implying stricter rules for adult gun owners may be a good way to set an example for younger generations. According to some recent studies, most children whose parents own a gun are inclined to use it as a weapon. Obviously, the availability of guns in a family possibly has a great impact on the young’s mindset. Therefore, tighter gun control could educate the youth to love peace and help the countries get rid of prospective mass shootings.

All things considered, it is unreasonable for the government to outright ban guns, but I am convinced that stricter regulations regarding gun use should be imposed.