The society would benefit from a ban on all forms of advertising because it serves no useful purpose, and can even be damaging. Do you agree or disagree?

In recent years, although advertisements have brought a huge number of benefits, in fact, there are many forms of advertising which are unethical and unacceptable. Therefore, several people argue that it is necessary to ban all of them. In my opinion, the authorities just need to control them not prohibit totally.

Advertisements should be inhibited completely due to negative effects they have. It is useful that advertising of unhealthy foods aim at children should be banned. It is obvious that kids are prone to be attracted by the interesting contents of these programs. Therefore, if the government do not forbid these kinds of advertisement, the health of the young generation would be deteriorated. Another reason is that all products are displayed and sold in various groceries and supermarkets which take over almost corners of the world. So it is unnecessary to advertise all items on the media.

However, I think that advertising is necessary for free-market economies and we should not ban them totally. The first reason for this is that advertising plays a vital role in increasing the demand for products in society. For example, advertising products on TV can arouse the desire of the viewer and then buying it although they do not tend to buy before. Moreover, we can prevent consumers from the adverse impacts of the advertisements of damaging products. For instance, the government impose a law which requires advertisers to display warnings on cigarette packets. Therefore, governments should only censor false information or products that are harmful.

In conclusion, many individuals oppose that the authorities should forbid advertisements while I argue that governments should only control promotions of harmful products.