The society would benefit from a ban on all forms of advertising because it serves no useful purpose and can be damaging. Do you agree or disagree?

It is true that some people believe that advertisement is useless or detrimental to their society. While I consider that this would drawbacks of this industry, I believe that it should not totally prohibit.

On the one hand, there are a variety of reasons why advertisement has the adverse influence on consumers. Firstly, the growing popularity of violence advertising on television has resulted in an increase of crime rate in the society. If advertisements involved in violence are broadcasted during the prime time television every day, children could easily learn how to turn into crime in the future. Secondly, a number of advertisements which promote various products such as toys, aimed mainly at a target audience of children and adolescents. For example, many children easily swayed by commercial advertisements such as milk or cookies, so they put pressure on their parents to buy goods impulsively.

On the other hand, I disagree that local and national authorities should impose an official ban on all forms of advertising because of some undeniable benefits to the public. Firstly, the advertising industry has an important role in the growth of the economic nation. Without the presence of advertisements, economic of the whole country could severely suffer because people who used to work in the advertising industry are now unemployed. As a result, this would lead to a rise in the unemployment proportion. Secondly, millions of companies take full of advantages of advertisement developments in order to maximize profits with a hope that it may attract potential customers in the short term. For instance, in the field of the beverage industry, most companies try to promote their type of different beverages with a high quality as well as a reasonable price through social media or television. By adopting this policy, companies can reach their goal as earning more money.

In conclusion, although there are some negative effects of advertisements, I consider there is no need to ban it completely