To solve the ever-increasing environmental hazards throughout the world, the best way is to increase the price of fuel.

What is your opinion on the above assumption?

There are several causes of environmental hazards and out of them, the burning of fossil fuel is a major one as it contributes more than a third of total pollution. Therefore, many people believe that increasing the price of fuel so as to curtail its use is one of the best options to tackle the environmental problems that the world is facing. However, there are many other side effects of raising fuel price which also needs to be taken under careful consideration before making a decision.

The automobile and other machinery are the leading source of environmental pollution as they produce a large amount of carbon dioxide and other greenhouse gases. It is imperative to control the excessive use of fuel and promote environmentally friendly equipment. Raising the price of fuel could be a good strategy to discourage its use in many ways. Firstly, with a higher price, people tend to search for cheaper options and try to be more economical with fuel consumption. For example, people will buy more electronic cars, solar panels, and other environmentally friendly utilities. This trend will certainly reduce the unnecessary use of fuel and contribute to reducing environmental degradation. Secondly, a higher cost to run a car will encourage people to use more public transportation, carpooling, walking for short distance, and bicycling around the city area. These activities, furthermore, decrease the number of cars on the road and reduce the smoke and carbon dioxide that the vehicle produces.

In contrast, there are some disadvantages of higher fuel price because our daily activities largely depend on it. For instance, it is one of the main factors of production and cost of production proportionally increases with the increase in fuel price. The higher production cost will enhance the living cost which eventually brings instability into the society and the poor people get hit hard. Likewise, people who depend on the car for their daily job will face a financial hardship.

In conclusion, rising fuel price to reduce its consumption can be a good, if not the best, strategy to control environmental damage caused by the fuel emission. Nevertheless, the disadvantages of rising fuel price are also very significant and need to be evaluated while trying to increase the fuel price.