In some countries, an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. It is, therefore, necessary for governments to impose a higher tax on this kind of food.

Eating fast food is the choice of many people because they are convenient, cheap and tasty. However, many people are suffering from health problems as a result of consuming junk foods. Therefore, some people think government should impose a higher tax them .

Consumption of fast foods is associated with higher intake of salt, sugar and fat. These contents result many health problems such as obesity, type 2 diabetes, and cholesterol etc. Similarly, physical and mental development of small children or teen age kids is directly related to their food intake. Unhealthy and junk food could make them lazy, and could also affect brain development. Nutritionist suggest we need to eat wide variety of foods including vegetables, fruits and salads to be healthy. It is really important to encourage people to eat more healthy and diverse food.

Imposing higher tax might be an option to discourage people to eat unhealthy foods to some extend. Although, it is not guarantee that people will reduce consumption of fast food even after higher tax, but at least government get additional resources to spend on hospital, research activities or awareness program. Higher tax on junk food and utilising that money to improve community health is a good trade off. On the other hand, fast food business owners are making bigger profit in compare to some other business. It is imperative to impose extra tax on their profit for fairness reason too.

Healthy eating habits not only promote people health but also reduce the crowd in hospital. So it is also important to teach people about healthy eating in addition to imposing higher tax on unhealthy foods alone.