The restoration of old buildings in major cities in the world spends numerous government expenditures. This money should be use in new housing and road development. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

It is quite clear that the old buildings are historical monuments and they hold historical importance. Therefore, the government should spend to preserve and restore them. However, some people argue that the government budget should be directed towards development of roads and construction of new houses. In my point of view, both of the above mentioned areas should be on the priority list of public spending.

There are many reasons why restoration of the old buildings is important. Firstly, they preserve our history and are the great source of information of that era when they were built. Our predecessors spent a large amount of time, money and effort to construct those remarkable heritage and it is now our responsibility to look after them and transfer to the new generation. Secondly, such buildings are the pride and identity of the city or the nation. For example, Eiffel Tower of Paris, Opera House of Sydney, Taj Mahal of New Delhi etc. are the main attraction of these cities. Moreover, such historical monument provide the landmark to boost tourism industry. Many tourists visit to view those buildings which promoting a number of economic activities and revenue to the government.

On the other hand, development of the roads and spending in housing is vital to continue economic growth and provide better living standard for the community. Well maintained roads are the pivotal of national development as a good transportation system helps to grow economic activities. Likewise, subsidised new housing benefits society in many ways and it is essential to maintain better living standard of the civilised society. Undeniably, government budget should be directed to these sectors with higher priority.

In conclusion, restoration of the old buildings or construction of new housing and roads are not the conflicting goals of a nation. They are not the different choices for government spending, rather they both should be accomplished together.