Modern lifestyle has made it harder for people to live a healthy and active lifestyle. What are the causes of this situation? Suggest what can be done by the government and large organisations to improve it.

The modern lifestyle has made us more lazy, unhealthy and living under the shadow of life threatening diseases. Our changing eating habits, working patterns and leisure activities are leading us to severe health problems. This essay intends to explain the causes of these issues before providing some suggestions.

Let us begin with the causes of unhealthy lifestyle. Firstly, our eating habits are changing. People prefer to eat more junk, fried and canned foods to fresh vegetables, salads and fruits. Although, those fast foods are tastier, cheaper and more convenient, they are the key factors of obesity and cardio related diseases. Secondly, lower physical activity is another contributing factor to encourage unhealthy living. People walk less, work on computers by sitting on the same posture for long time and spend their leisure time on internet surfing or on social media. Some level of physical activities are imperative to maintain good digestive system, blood circulation, healthy muscle and strong bones.

Moreover, because of of busy life style, our sleeping time is reducing and stress level is growing. This is further encouraging to deregulate our everyday activities. The problem is growing everyday and thus, it should be taken seriously because deteriorating public health is really costly for the whole economy. On the one side, People need to be more aware and on the other, government should be encouraging public to choose more healthy lifestyle.

First of all, government need to encourage public to do more physical activities. For example: constructing cycle paths in cities, making better public transport, walkways, constructing playgrounds, park with exercise equipments etc. Secondly, fresh and healthy food eating habits are to be promoted by adding extra tax on unhealthy junk foods. Likewise, direct public awareness programs are to be conducted by the government to suggest people to have regular health checkup so as to monitor their health issues.

In conclusion, it is quite clear that our life style is alarmingly deteriorating our health. Our careless behaviour, unhealthy foods and living could lead us to many problems. It is vital to start corrective actions from all sides, including government, before it is too late.