Do you think children should be given a lot of homework or not? Apart from the homework what do you think the children can do to pass their free time.

Homework is an important part of school and college education and also essential for children's academic development. But many people believe that an excessive amount of homework is only a burden, and children should give more emphasis on extra-curricular activities as well. This essay will discuss why children should not be given a lot of academic pressure beyond school time and what children can do to spend their free time.

It is quite clear that a minimum level of homework is essential for academic development as well as to cover the school curriculum. In this modern competitive world, the students need to do enough academic work and research activities for the better carer in the future. However, a large amount of homework give them mental pressure and reduce their time to play and enjoy. Firstly, they get worried about the work they need to accomplish and feel stressed. Secondly, coursework hinders them to participate in sport and other activities which are very important for their physical and mental development. Furthermore, they get less free time to socialize and interact with their family and friends. Thirdly, less physical activities and being a bookworm could lead to many health disorders and diseases such as obesity.

There are numbers of other activities, which are directly or indirectly related to the holistic development, that the children could do in their free time. For example, they can participate in sports, drawing, painting, socializing and so on. These activities not only improve their creativity but also provide them joyful time. Subsequently, they feel less pressure, stress, and frustration and thus there are fewer chances of attracting to the wrong path or misconduct.

In conclusion, although, the academic activities are important to meet a course requirement, children should be given only minimum and homework and allow them to have some enjoyable time with family and friends and extra-curricular activities.