Solving environmental problems should be the responsibility of an international organization rather than each national government. Do you agree or disagree?

Recent decades have witnessed the intensification of climate changes and many other environmental issues, raising many questions of ít impacts of the sustainability of humankind. Although it is proposed that an international organization be responsible for these green problems rather than each national government sounds legitimate, I disagree with this view.

On the one hand, it should be acknowledged that the responsibility of an international group for environmental issues could be fraught with pitfalls. Unlike the local government, an international organization is invariably associated with the exploitation of natural resources of the areas especially those in developing countries and ignore their environmental issues. In fact, many international groups coming to Vietnam to tackle the deforestation and animals’ habitat shrinking problems encounters the allegations of working in connivance with poachers to smuggle valuable woods to other neighbouring nations.

On the one hand, there are many advantages when it comes to the national government’s liability for environmental issues. First, the national administration could freely enact the legislations to address many green issues, which could not be seen in an international group. For example, Vietnamese official authorities have applied Carbon tax on many industrial parks with many manufacturing factories, thereby curbing the concentration of pollutant particles especially carbon dioxide and methane in the atmosphere. Second, the national government could capitalize on the mainstream media to inform citizens about the negative consequences of environmental problems and subsequently raise their awareness of environment protection. For instance, due to some programmes designed to alert people about some respiratory diseases stemming from climate change, there is a rise in the number of Vietnamese people participating in some tree-planting campaigns to restore damaged forests, contributing remarkably to the environmental rehabilitation of the nation.

In conclusion, I believe that the each national government should be liable for solving green problems instead of a multinational government due to some benefits of freely enacting laws and using media to raise citizens’ environment protection awareness.