Some believe museums should entertain people while others believe their purpose is to educate. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

The museum is an interesting place to visit. It is often visited by adults and children on personal or school excursions. Some people believe museums should solely be for the purpose of education while some others think it should offer some form of entertainment. To illustrate this, both line of thoughts would be analyzed.

Firstly, it is widely known that historical artifacts, ornaments and sculptures etc are kept in the museum, which is mainly the reason people visit in order to acquire knowledge. For example, most schools in Nigeria include visiting museums in the curriculum as a a way of educating the pupils about history. In this way, they have a clear knowledge of past events and appreciate it more because the visuals. Hence, it is proved that the museum is very purposeful in education.

However, on the other hand, the belief that museums should be for entertainment is also a strong fact. An example is seen in a certain museum in the Eastern part of Nigeria. There are war ships, armored tanks, jets and underground bunkers. Some of them are being used as restaurants, bars and tourist attraction. People come from various parts of the country to have a feel of having to dine in the war ships and jets and also visit the underground bunker with their families. This therefore proves that the museum should be visited for entertainment.

As seen above, both views hold strong reasons. In my opinion, people should be able to visit the museum for whichever reason the choose, although the benefits of visiting for educational purposes outweighs that of entertainment. In the foreseeable future, museums should be solely for the purpose of education.