Some businesses find that their new employees lack basic interpersonal skills, such as cooperative skills. What are the causes and suggest some possible solutions.

It is obvious that graduates, when embarking on their first careers, usually receive some negative feedback because of their lack of vital soft skills. It seems that two main reasons leading to this issue, and this can be mitigated by effective solutions.

Two primary factors should be held accountable for this problem. Firstly, it is likely that the education system still concentrates too much on knowledge instead of developing practical skills. For instance, in Viet Nam, teachers and parents usually require students to make a good grade in academic subjects and consider that a student who has been at the top of the class would be the best one. As a result, students spend no time on extra-curricular activities, which is an effective way to develop their social skills, especially cooperative skills. Secondly, living in an environment where parents are overprotective could be another factor. Parental involvement in formative years could shape a person's personality. Therefore, if parents always spoon-feed their children, they will become indifferent and do not know how to take care of the people around them.

Several measures could be adopted to alleviate this issue. Firstly, the government should pay more attention and funding to organize vocational training courses for students, especially teamwork skills. For instance, Huong Duong Viet is an organization established to provide the necessary soft skills for students, which helps them know how to work together, making a huge contribution to their professions in their future. In addition, students or new employees should have an awareness of self-improving their abilities. By registering useful courses or receiving advice from supportive colleagues, they could acquire vital skills to become better.

In conclusion, this problem is attributable to a number of reasons, but with the cooperation of governments and individuals, we could mitigate it.