Some children spend hours every day on smartphones.

Why is this the case?

Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

It is currently ubiquitous that the time youth dedicate to utilizing portable devices is significantly increasing. This essay will discuss the justifications for this phenomenon and explain why this trend is more likely to be disadvantageous.

There are prime reasons for why young people incline to devote a huge figure of time to technological devices. First and foremost, children lack the attention from their parents. Adults who are overburdened tend to ignore the behavior of their offspring and let them free in using smartphones without management. As a result, minors cannot be aware of the extent to which considerable time is utilized and gradually spend most of their time on portable devices. In addition, this phenomenon is bred by the youth’s tremendous entertainment demand. Those are under immense pressure to perform well academically or to be introverted have a tendency to surf the Internet and play video games with the purpose to release detrimental energy in their free time.

However, some drawbacks may be derived from this trend. Firstly, this may lead to adverse effects on children’s health. The more time devoted to using smartphones the less physical activities they engage in which engender a variety of health conditions such as bone-related illnesses, eye diseases, or obesity. Moreover, it also triggers mild mental conditions related to anxiety and self-esteem or extreme ones related to dissociation and depression. Secondly, the greatly increasing in using technological devices can lead to a shortage of life skills. If children prioritize passively utilizing smartphones over active pastimes, they will not have a chance to experience various gripping challenges to improve their soft skills.

in conclusion, This phenomenon is engendered by less attention from parents and the rising minors’ entertainment demand. This result in negative impacts on children’s health and the development of life skills.