Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones Why is this the case Do you think this is a positive or a negative development

Nowadays, overusing of smartphones by children becomes a huge problem. This is because of various reasons, and I believe it is a negative trend which in the following I will go into details and elaborate it.

There are several factors which may be responsible for excessive use of smartphones by young people. With the development of technology and easy access, everyone has smartphones and they provide an immense amount of entertaining content such as games, videos and social media which are really interesting and also addictive. Therefore children tend to spend more and more time on it. Another reason can be the competitiveness between children to have the latest smartphones and being the best in the games they are playing, they do not want to lag behind their friends and try to play more to reach higher scores and levels in the games. Furthermore, parents play a crucial role in this case. Most parents are too lenient and permissive about using mobiles by their children. They make their children accustomed to do whatever they want and do not have enough control and power over their children anymore to compel them not to use their mobiles to excess.

In my conviction, this development is completely negative. Firstly, It is a huge waste of time which can be consumed for studying or learning other profitable activities with observable outcomes. Secondly, spending much time on mobiles can be a source of distraction and act as an impediment for children to have long lasting concentration. For example, during school lessons or studying their mind might frequently jump into the middle of the game which they have been playing recently. So, they cannot focus on their lessons. Finally, this long gazing at the screens of the mobiles can be harmful and detrimental to children's eyes and might make them have poor eye sight.

In conclusion, excess consumption of smartphones by children is becoming common in recent times for a range of reason and it can have negative irreparable consequences. However, it can be addressed by taking some possible measures.