Some cities have vehicle-free days when private cars, trucks and motorcycles are banned from the city center. People are encouraged to use public transportation such as buses, taxis and metro on vehicle-free days. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

There is an argument that private vehicles, such as cars, motorbikes, and trucks, are not allowed in cities on a vehicle-free day. By contrast, only public transportations and bicycles are allowed on that day for people to commute. This essay will argue that the advantages of this outweigh the drawbacks. This essay will first discuss the positive impact on the environment it brings, followed by an analysis of how the primary disadvantage, namely it disturbs peoples' schedules, is not valid.

The main advantage of banning private vehicles and using public transportation is that it helps us save the environment. Private transport is one of the primary sources which cause pollution because they emit air pollutants and greenhouse gas. A recent article from a local newspaper in India stated that there are 230 million cars currently running on the road. Out of those, each vehicle emits roughly 120.1 grams of carbon dioxide per km. So, if we use public transportations on that day, we can prevent a significant amount of air pollutants and greenhouse gases from getting mixed into the air, which further helps us save the environment.

The disadvantage of this is peoples' routines get disturbed. As in any city center, due to limited public transportation options, people have to wait for a long time to get their chance to commute on that day. As a result, they get late to reach their destinations, and it affects everything schedules afterward. However, with the help of proper management and planning, it is possible to resolve this issue. For instance, it could be possible to avoid rush and delays if the government researches the high and low hours earlier and regulates transportations accordingly.

To conclude, the advantage of getting a positive impact on the environment outweighs the disadvantage of getting peoples' routine disturbed. Therefore, on vehicle-free days, instead of private vehicles, public vehicles should get permits.