Some cities have vehicle-free days when private cars, trucks and motorcycles are banned from the city center. People are encouraged to use public transportation such as buses, taxis and metro on vehicle-free days.

To what extent do you think the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Certain countries have introduced a number of days when personal vehicles are not allowed to enter the city center so as to encourage the use of public transport. Although such practice may cause some delays in business, overall it will help alleviate global warming.

Apparently, the prohibition of private means of transport could lead to financial losses, especially in the shipping sector. it is freight service that is at the core of any economy in the world as it enables the delivery of various merchandise, such as raw materials or essential consumer goods, to not only customers but also the manufacturers. Moreover, such transactions help sustain the expansion of an economy. Therefore, were the policy of vehicle-free days widely approved across the world, there would be numerous postpones, thereby inflicting damages on the economic well-being of a country.

However, it is telling the adoption of this carbon reduction scheme can decrease significantly the speed of climate change. According to a plethora of studies, such weather phenomenon is occurring at an alarmingly pace, which, if not properly addressed, will likely threaten the existence of the entire of species on the Earth. Furthermore, one of the main occasions of atmospheric pollution is the exhaust fumes from private vehicles. Consequently, should we be unable to reduce carbon footprint, Holocene extinction will be likely inevitable as suggested by many scientists. And certainly, no economic deficiency can be comparable to such environmental catastrophe.

in conclusion, despite the fact that vehicle-free days can effect some declines in business, it is imperative to minimize the release of greenhouse gases from automobiles as much as possible. Otherwise, later generations might never have a chance to remedy our mistakes.