Some people think that the best way to get news is through the newspaper, while others disagree.

Discuss both views and give your opinion

Opinions are divided as to whether receiving news through newspaper or through other sources is the best way. Although newspaper can provide reliable information, other types of media are progressively surpassing it due to the participation of different news writers and use of vivid illustrations.

The proponents of using newspaper as a primary source of news usually predicate their thinking on the fact that information in newspaper is often accurate. This is because to publish a piece of news, it has to be vetted by a number of well-qualified editors who have developed great journalistic skills. Moreover, newspaper publishers have to be accountable for what they spread, so were there any misleading information that could discredit someone, they would accept full responsibility for that misinformation. Therefore, readers, especially older generations, tend to gravitate towards these mainstream sources for serious news.

Nevertheless, the quality of news published on social networking sites has increased significantly. In fact, these virtual platforms are transparent spheres where news writers with different levels of journalistic skills can post their angles of a certain affair, and viewers can greatly benefit from this by comparing and contrasting such views with the mainstream ones. Such competition has made online information increasingly trustworthy. Furthermore, online news sources tend to utilize multimedia content, such as videos or images, to enhance viewer’s understanding of current events. For example, a video clip is much more illustrative and catchy to viewers, especially young ones than a written news item, although conventional newspapers can provide a deeper coverage of that event. For these reasons, not only will multimedia platforms attract a greater readership, but also more certified respondents to post their accounts on affairs.

In conclusion, while some prefer traditional sources of news, other kinds of media have been gaining huge popularity recently because of their convenience and will likely to outperform newspaper.