Museums and art galleries should focus on works that show the history and culture of their own country rather than works of other parts of the world

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In terms of themes of a museum, there are two schools of thought, with the former gravitating around foreign cultural displays and the latter revolving around works from the country they are located. Personally, although museums are a valuable tool to educate a person about the past of his country, I believe that museums should play an important role in widening a person’s horizons about other civilizations around the world.

On the one hand, proponents of the notion that museum should place emphasis on showcasing exhibits of their own country often point out that museums provide a means of transporting visitors into the context of their culture and history. By and large, people learn about their history through reading history textbooks at school and listening to oral stories from the elderly, which are often patchy and not vivid. However, should children or students be able to pay a visit to a local museum, they will be likely tempted to delve deeper into some certain events of their history. In this way, they can strengthen the bond with their nation or feel proud of the history, which ultimately creates the desire to contribute to the prosperity of their country. In Vietnam, the Education Ministry, after conducting research on history education, has come to agree that by taking students to learn history at national museums, the students are reported to be more excited to learn extensively about their history than by previous teaching methods.

Despite the undeniable benefits, I think museums should also act as a device to broaden a person’s perspective about international cultures or traditions. Generally, not many could afford to travel around the world, visiting different local museums and then learning about the history there. As a result, if a museum’ aim is to focus on an all-round education, then it is necessary to install some foreign cultural spaces in a museum to cater to such requirements. As can be seen with London museum where an array of different exhibits representative of a host of civilizations across the world, visitors can be mesmerized into learning about the other cultures and expand their perspective at ease and without paying for an airplane ticket. With such convenience and reasonable costs, people will be encouraged to revisit and keep gaining more insights into alien cultures.

In conclusion, museums are often denoted with educational purposes, which means I think they need to not only teach domestic guests about their cultures but also introduce them to the beauty of alien ones.