Museum and art galleries should concentrate on works that show the history and culture of their own country rather than works of other parts of the world. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people believe that museums and art galleries should place more emphasis on works portraying national history and culture instead of those with international themes. Personally, I partly agree with the notion as both types of artworks can bring different levels of advantages to the visitors and the museum and art shows.

On the one hand, exhibitions that display artworks with domestic themes can increase the income of the museum and art galleries per se and of the nation in general. Specifically, nowadays, as there are many foreign visitors who are in quest of the novel history and culture of an alien country, exhibitions representing the nation can attract the interest of such individuals. Not only would this increase the income of museums, art galleries, and tourist industry but it also boosts their reputation and international status in their fields.

On the other hand, artworks with international themes can help with the understanding of local citizens, especially the young ones. In fact, international works grant visitors insights into the history and culture of different countries around the world. In this era of ever-increasing globalization, this type of knowledge can be tremendously beneficial for them. Besides, it enhances their reverence for the unique features of their country. Therefore, international works can benefit local visitors in a significant way.

To conclude, despite controversial schools of thought on determining the focus of museums and art galleries, I endorse the hypothesis that they concentrate on both works of national and international themes. While the former can attract more foreigners to the country, the latter can broaden citizens’ understanding of the world.