People say that a country will benefit greatly if its students study abroad. To what extend do you agree or disagree.

Some people hold the opinion that a country will enjoy tremendous benefits to have its students going to other nations to study. Personally, I partly agree with the notion because there is a degree of negativity besides the positive one that the homeland may have to experience.

On the one hand, pupils who learn abroad would help to bring back the rich stream of understanding and skills. In fact, since international schools are usually highly selective, students which are capable of earning their acceptance must be gifted in some specific domains. If these pupils can acquire the foreigners’ sophisticated and updated knowledge and put it into practice, they can implement necessary changes to support the development of their home country. Consequently, the nation can benefit exponentially from having students learning internationally.

On the other hand, there is no guarantee that these groups of students will absolutely return home after finishing their courses. Specifically, they may prefer to live in the progressive condition of the developed countries, leading to the decision to migrate to the adopted country. If there is a huge number of students following this path, it can bring about brain drain in their home nation, directly affecting the workforce and the number of elite intellectuals. This phenomenon may cause significant damage to their country of origin, harnessing the procedure of development.

In conclusion, despite debatable schools of thought on determining the ultimate impacts of allowing students to study abroad, I endorse the hypothesis that the situation can become a two-edged sword. While it provides an influx of knowledge for the development of the country, it may be rendered to exposure to brain drain.