Some people think that sports play an important role in the development of society. Others think that they are nothing more than a leisure activity. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Some individuals advocate that sports are of paramount importance in developing society. Others, nevertheless, suggest that sports serve no purpose other than for recreation. Although both views possess a degree of relevance, I agree with the former notion as humans and society enjoy different levels of positivity from sports.

On the one hand, sports are thought to transcend society as they help to enhance the population’s general well-being. It is scientifically proven that there is a strong correlation between participating in sports and significant improvements in mood and physical health. In this way, people can become more creative and productive in their work and succeed in generating more goods and inventing more innovations, which are two main forces that drive societal development. Consequently, sports can be associated with humans’ positive contribution to society, leading to a diversity of developments.

On the other hand, sports are deemed to be the ordinary exercise for pastimes since they fail to attract people's attention and interest to actually engage in. Specifically, since sports are generally physically demanding and need special equipment, the participants are required to dedicate an enormous sum of money and time to be able to indulge in them. As a result, people that do not have the conditions to play sports consider them to be time-consuming and exorbitant. Therefore, sports are opined to be purely recreational activities.

To conclude, despite controversial schools of thought on determining the ultimate role of sports in the modern era, I endorse the hypothesis that they are contributive and imperative in transforming society. Because they are capable of improving the physical and mental state of people, they can inherently render productivity to increase.