More and more people in the city live in home with small spaces or no outdoor areas. Is this a positive or negative development.

As a result of prohibitive cost and other financial-related issues, living in places that are cramped or without outdoor areas has become increasingly prevalent among city dwellers. Personally, I hold the opinion that this is a detrimental development, as individuals may experience different negative consequences.

On the one hand, the cramped living spaces with no outdoor areas can have detrimental effects on the physical well-being of individuals. Specifically, those kinds of houses limit citizens’ engagement in physical movements because they have no room to place the essential equipment for such activities. Therefore, this sedentary lifestyle would result in serious health conditions such as heart diseases or obesity. Consequently, it is disadvantageous for people to live in small houses without outdoor areas.

On the other hand, city dwellers’ mental states might be adversely affected by living in houses with small or no outdoor spaces. It is scientifically proven that living in such places reduces the chance of individuals having friends to come over since they either feel ashamed of their living places or uncomfortable to have many people in small rooms. Besides, houses without outdoor areas would render people lower the frequencies of socializing with their neighbors. In this way, many psychological problems may develop as a result of feeling isolated or disconnected. The given explanation justifies the reason people should not choose to live in small places without outdoor spaces.

In conclusion, despite debatable schools of thought on determining the ultimate impacts of living in cramped houses without outdoor areas, I endorse the hypothesis that this development is disadvantageous since it has negative impacts on the physical and mental well-being of city dwellers.