In many countries, people buy a range of household goods.

Is it a positive or negative development?

Since the industrial revolution, humans have acquired the ability to mass-produce anything they need, which has given rise to the concerns over the substantial quantity of products one has possessed. Although such phenomenon is a positive sign of increased manufacturing capacity as well as living standards, this could result in impulsive buying.

It is apparent that the continual expansion of industries and electronic commerce as well as the ease of giving credit are driven by the insatiable desire of growing middle class for buying. Such enormous growth in purchases has consequently generated greater profits for businesses to reinvest in their production capacity, thus forming a positive feedback loop. Furthermore, the enhanced purchasing power is, to a certain extent, an indication of augmented average income. To illustrate, in the past, to be able to possess a TV required an individual to scrimp and save over a few months, whereas for the time being, such consumer product only accounts for a moderate amount of one’s salary.

The mass production, nevertheless, means a distinct possibility that a large amount of merchandise could remain unsold for a period of time. Therefore, many concerns have opted for built-in obsolescence and simultaneously used advertisements to incentivize consumers to spend more even on item of little utility to them. For example, multiple aggregators have been offering numerous discounts and utilizing celebrity endorsement to manipulate consumer spending to a degree that many young buyers have bought items that they never use. More significantly, such trend could lead to an improvident use of finances among later generations with the result that some youngsters have accumulated huge debts. As a result, it is safe to say the existing consumerism is more of detrimental nature than beneficial one.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that not only can consumerism promote the overall production but also somewhat reflects the wealth of a society; however, it can lead them to develop unwise buying habits.