the prevention of health problems and illness is more important than treatment and medicine. Government funding should reflect this.

to what extent do you agree?

It is argued that preventative approaches, rather than curative ones, to health issues should be funded. Although such view might be true to a certain extent, these two approaches are of great importance of people’s well-being in equal measure.

Investments in increasing the public awareness of causes of diseases as well as early detection tests have proved to provident decisions. Apparently, health is the greatest asset of a nation, so if the ordinary, especially the working class who is likely prone to varied work hazards, is well equipped with knowledge and means of protecting and enhancing their wellness, not only lives but also budget for universal health care will be saved. For example, tax revenues from taxing junk foods can be utilized to subsidize regular medical check-ups, informing people of their overall health status, or to install more public sports equipment so that people are encouraged to adopt active lifestyles, thus effectively enhancing their immune system.

It is also, however, of note there are many diseases requiring treatment. Such illnesses can be hereditary or recently detected such as cancer or covid-19 which are astronomically expensive to be cured. Therefore, were there insufficiency of governmental fundings for hospitals, there would be an alarming rise in the death toll, severely crippling a country’s economy as well as workforce. As a result, it is safe to conclude that over-emphasis on one measure to health problems over the other will likely result in an inability to address complex problems. In fact, despite being aware of the idea that prevention is better cure, many developed countries continue to spend an enormous amount of money on devising innovative cures and medication.

in conclusion, there should be a balance between prevention and treatment. Otherwise, a country could confront with either a great number of people facing preventable diseases or a high death rate from unpreventable ones.