Some commentators feel that grandparents should live together with their children and grandchildren, while others say that elderly people should be encouraged to live independently. Consider the possible arguments on both sides of this debate, and reach your own conclusion.

It remains to be in question whether the aged live with their extended family or separately. Although some people argue that living together heartens grandparents, others claim every individual should be independent. This essay will look at some strong viewpoints made by two opposing sides.

It seems that all possible explanations for grandparents living with children have been summarized in one word: support; because old people are less able to manage their daily lives. Proponents mostly emphasize that being surrounded or getting involved with grandchildren`s enthusiastically youthful lives would be a constant source of happiness for grandparents, leading to lower levels of depression. It is also true that in case of incidents, like rubbery or heart attack, the elderly will be provided with attention and care to a greater extent, so rarely will they experience anxiety over future. As a last point, reduction in costs of housing is a matter which cannot be ignored.

By contrast, those believing the idea of grandparents living independently often state that every age group has its own needs, resulting in different lifestyles. For instance, the old usually avoid being in a noisy place continuously as tolerance decreases by age, therefore being visited by their children on a frequent basis causes a more cheerful sense for them. Besides, today`s rapidly changing world have made people busier and houses smaller, so it may be reasonable to shift responsibility for affording old people safety and health from family members to government. Also, living independently appears essential to prevent the aged from social isolation.

To conclude, I consider living separately will be more favorable to all concerned unless it exposes any individual to risk, since peace, privacy and self-esteem are of necessity of a life and the young force of society should focus on serving the country more than perpetual treatment.