Some countries achieve international sports by building specialised facilities to train top athletes, instead of providing sports facilities that everyone can use. Do you think this is positive or negative development?

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Certain nations build specialised facilites only to training top athletes for international sport tournaments, instead of making facilities for everyone to use. In my opinion, this strategy is a negative one, because in order for the country to compete internationally, the average citizens have to get the short end of the stick

Playing on the international ground and achieving high status bring pride and respect to a country, so training the best athletes to do it is beneficial. Focusing a nation's budget on building sport facilites only for top athletes ensure that they have the best training for international competition. Therefore, these sportsmen have the highest chance to accomplish great achievements for the country. Moreover, when athletes compete internationally, they inspire the people of their nations to also train in sports.

That being said, this strategy is still very detrimental to the average residents of those nations. Building sports facilities for all people encourages everyone to practice and be healthy. Playing sport is obviously important in keeping a person healthy both physically and mentally; so having facilities available to everyone motivate them to train. Not to mention, having everyone train sports provide them the opportunities to be talented and further compete in competitions. Those people then can train professionally and consest in international tournatments.

To wrap up, having top athletes compete internationally is important and beneficial, but that does not mean countries should ignore the average people. Some sports facilities should be built for the best sportsmen, but there must be those for the everyone to use too.