Some countries are considering a tax on sugar in foods to help fight childhood obesity. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of such a proposal.

A lot of countries are proposing to tax foods containing sugar. While it might be successful in addressing obesity issues, other fields could have suffered some consequences, such as the economic and cultural field. Countries considering on making such policy need to be able to face the repercussions that will rise.

If this recommendation was put into effect, it would change the eating habits of families, especially those with low to medium income. These households will be forced to limit their consumptions of products with sugar to keep their budgets in check. Instead, they will consume a larger proportion of whole foods, like fruits and vegetables. Also, children will not be able to buy chocolate and candies with only their allowances. Implementing this policy will mean that families will need to be able to adapt to this new situation where access on foods with sugar will be limited and therefore putting an end towards sugar dependency.

On the contrary, companies that produce foods containing sugar will suffer economically and in turns affect the nation's cultural influences. Many countries, such as France and Belgium, are known to be big producers of sugar and their economic balance rely mostly on the increasing demands for sugar. In addition, bakeries, confectionaries, and supermarkets, will not survive without the high demands for sugary goods. A significant decrease in demand might also mean that some factories and companies would need to lay off some workers which could send a rippling effect towards a nation's poverty balance.

In conclusion, although adding an additional tax to foods with sugar might help in combatting rising child obesity, other problems can occur. A country would need to choose between the future health of children or the longstanding economic and cultural balance.