Some people believe that if the police force carries guns, it would encourage a higher level of violence in the society. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Police forces are known as the first defense system of a country. As a result, they can be seen carrying weapons in some countries. While these weapons are used to defend and help citizens, on most occasions it is the opposite situation. In this essay I agree that guns carried by the police can stimulate a rise in violent behavior in the society because it symbolizes violence and for it strikes fear inside citizen's heart more than peace.

Firstly, guns are commonly associated with violence. Although police forces uses weapons to defend themselves against unwanted situation, it is still seen not for peace. If carrying weapons are normalized in a society, it can stimulate the rise of violent behaviour and criminal activity. It has been proven through Psychology that guns can stipulate a person's violent behaviour.

Secondly, people has always been afraid of weapons. When police forces carries weapons, it does not send a message of peace, instead, people become very fearful and when humans are afraid or panics, they often react in the form of violence. In fact, scientists have found that panic shootings have happened throughout the world because the shooter felt threatened by the police's weapons.

To end, police officers uses guns to aid their job in keeping the peace of their country and its citizens. On the contrary, weapons can send the wrong message because it is a symbol to violence and can stipulate such behavior, and for it makes people afraid and therefore resulted in unwanted dangerous situations. As a result, it can help encourage an increase in violent behaviour among the society.