in some countries the average worker is obliged to retire at the age of 50 while in others people can work until they are 65 or 70. meanwhile, we see some politicians enjoying power into their eighties. clearly, there is little agreement on an appropriate retirement age.

until what age do you think people should be encouraged to remain in paid employment

Task 2

Retirement age differs society to society in terms of socioeconomic condition. It is an age when every working individual takes break from work and gets paid for the services they have done for their company. Some sociologists believe that having a fixed retirement age for everybody in spite of their occupation is unfair, and certain workers should be allowed to take early retirement. I completely agree with this argument and I will indicate my view with examples.

Age is the prime concern in deciding retirement, meanwhile, it is not the main criterion of ability. In many cases, some 65 or 70 -year-old workers may not work efficiently as they work before, while many workers at this age are sound enough to work better than they used to. The suitability of a position should be a reflection of one’s performance in the job rather than their age. What the employers need to do is to observe their workers performance. Those who are performing poorly may be asked to be retired or to be resigned, but those are yet able to do work efficiently should go on. The organization can be benefited in ways; on the one hand it can have an experience worker and on the other hand it can save money and time on training new employee.

Additionally, remaining in one's job for as long as one is able makes sense as life expectancies increase around the world. As people live longer, they are able to contribute to society in the form of meaningful work. But they are also in need of income for a longer period. A mandatory retirement age of 50 for someone who is statistically likely to live to 79, becomes increasingly difficult to justify. Furthermore, by keeping able workers in paid employment for as long as is possible, public expenditures are less strained. Thus, workers who can still demonstrate their capacity to carry out their work should not be asked to retire simply because they have reached a certain age.

In conclusion, I think age is not a crucial factor for retirement of people. Since the average lifespan and life expectancy has increased, it would be wise to rise retirement age that has two fold impacts on both the individual and the community as well.