Some people think that children should be taught to be competitive in schools, others, however, say that cooperation and team working skills are more important.

Discuss both view and give your own opinion

Some argue that training students to become competitive is essential. However, many believe that teaching them to learn how to cope with other students and develop cooperative skills is more beneficial. This essay discusses both ideas and I totally agree with the second statement.

One the one hand, there is a common acceptance about the fact that persuading students to compete against each other leads to more progress in their studies. This is caused by considering awards and honors for assigned challenges at school. In fact, prizes motivate them to put more effort in their lessons and tasks, and this results in better performance and achieving higher levels in tutorials. To illustrate the point, assigning pupils with an essay and deciding on specific criteria for the assessment may encourage them to do more research and make the best out of it.

According to others, it is often believed that developing collaborative skills among students has a positive effect on their lives. People live in societies and they require social skills to establish effective communities and improve them. Learning how to cope with the others and operating practical team work is vital for the survival of each community. This ability should be acquired in the early ages, unless children are raised to become incommunicative adults. For instance, having students to work on a short project together can cause more improvement, rather than doing it individually. In my opinion, this approach is more practical for children. Since going through various competitions puts a great deal of pressure on students and can cause mental and physical harm.

In conclusion, there are different notions that schools should whether focus on competitions or team work. Both sides have some advantages over each other. However, from my point of view, training pupils to succeed in team work and corporation has more benefits for them.