In some countries, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

Success always smiles with those who make an effort to achieve their goals. In some nations, educating children to reach the specific target unless they do not try hard enough is extremely important. This method brings a lot of benefits such as arising awareness, motivating, or forming good characters. However, there are several downsides that people must take into account.

The message of encouraging children to make enough effort whenever achieving success has lots of advantages. First of all, children can advance their awareness about target progression. For example, if they want to get an A mark in the exam, they have to practice and study carefully from easy tasks to difficult ones. During the studying progression, students also gain useful experiences and form good character such as patience, self-discipline, responsibility, which are required to be a successful person in the future. In addition, failure always exists in all situations, hence, while failure is considered as not attempting enough, the feeling of disappointment and depression is reduced. Instead, this experience becomes a motivation that helps children overcome whatever hardship is.

However, there are some negative influences that adults must take into consideration whenever teaching and motivating children to reach the targets. Some students spend the most time studying and refuse other activities such as playing sports. This problem will lead to the reverse of study-recreation balance. Besides, children may be misled if they have the wrong initial perspective that putting too much effort into doing over-touch targets.

In conclusion, teaching children how to achieve any goals by making enough effort will have positive impacts on children's development. Yet not everything is perfect, losing the balance between study and entertainment and misguiding are the adversities children have to encounter.